Grampians Rural Health Collaborative




cwc_whirly brandmark 2




Grampians Region Quality Improvement Homepage 


The Grampians Quality Improvement page has been developed as an accessible portal for Grampians Health Services (Quality Managers) and the Department of Health to share information and resources, upload tools and documents, and provide benchmarking opportunities particularly in relation to Quality Improvement, Accreditation and the National Safety Quality Health Service and EQuiP National Standards.  Information pertaining to the Community Common Care Standards and the Aged Care Standards is also contained on this page.

Links are provided to all relevant documents and resources, including documents arising from the Regional Meeting of the Grampians Clinical Governance Network and the Accreditation Focus Group.

National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS Standards) 

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality  in Healthcare (ACSQHC) developed the ten (10) National Safety and Quality Health Servcie Standards (NSQHS Standards) which were endorsed by the Minister for Health in 2011.

These Standards provide a Nationally consistent and uniform set of measures of safety and quality for application across a wide variety of health care services.  They propose evidence-based improvement strategies to deal with gaps between current and best practice outcomes that affect a large number of patients.

The Standards provide a basis for Accreditation, as they determine how and against what an organisations performance will be assessed. 

Click here to view more information about the NSQHS Standards.

EQuIP National Standards

The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) developed the five (5) additional standards in the EQuIP National program to complement the ACSQHS NSQHS Standards.  Health Services can elect to be assessed on the EQuIP National standards in addition to the NSQHS Standards during their national Accreditation process.  The EQuIP National standards have been derived from EQuIP5 and reformatted to integrate seamlessly with the NSQHS Standards. 

Click here to view more information about the EQuIP National Standards. 

Aged Care Standards

In Australia, residential aged care facilities are required to be accredited to receive Government subsides.  The performance of these homes is assessed against the Aged Care Standards (the set of legislated Accreditation Standards).  The Aged Care Standards comprise four (4) Standards each overarching a number of expected outcomes.  There are 44 expected outcomes and residential aged care facilities are expected to comply with all 44 outcomes at all times. 

Click here to view more information about the Aged Care Standards.

Community Common Care Standards

The Community Common Care Standards have been developed as a guide to help service providers ensure quality for clients in Community Care, and to assist with the preparation and participation in successful Quality Reviews.  The Community Common Care Standards comprise three (3) Standards and eighteen (18) expected outcomes 

The Standards apply to service providers who are recieving funding under the following three programs:

  • The Home and Community Care Program (HACC)
  • Packaged Care Programs - including Community Aged Care Packages (CAPS), Extended Aged Care at Home (EACH) and Extended Aged Care at Home Dementia (EACHD)
  • National Respite for Carers Program (NRCP)

Click here to view more information about the Community Common Care Standards.

Grampians Regional Clinical Governance Network (GRCGN)

The Grampians Regional Clinical Governance Network was established several years ago and comprises of regional Quality Managers and relevant Health Service Personnel, as well as Regional Department of Health representation.  The Group meets quarterly to discuss, workshop and report on a regional level in relation to Quality and Safety matters with the aim of improving the standard of health care provided to those in the Grampians Region.   

Click here to access GRCGN documentation

Grampians Region Accreditation Focus Group (GRAFG)

The Grampians Accreditation Focus Group was established in March 2014, as a forum for Health Services to network specifically around the Accreditation process.  This Focus Group works collaboratively to share and discuss information and provide support to all Grampians Region Health Services in their pursuit to achieve best outcomes and goals in relation to National Accreditation requirements and processes.

Click here to access GRAFG documentation


 Updated March 2014