Quality Improvement

Improving standards of health services in the Grampians Region

Quality improvement is also part of what the Grampians Region Collaborative is concerned about, and that is why there is a portal specifically designed to ensure compliance with all quality control measures. The Quality Improvement page is what the Department of Health and Quality Manager the Grampians Health Services use to provide opportunities for benchmarking, share resources and information, and upload documents and resources. It is where health services will find information related to Aged care standards and community common care standards.

National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS Standards)

These standards are developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare and were endorsed by the Health Minister. The standards serve as uniform and consistent quality and safety measures to be applied across various healthcare services. They suggest evidence-based strategies that will deal with the gaps between the current practices and the best ones that will benefit the patients on a large scale. The standards also serve as the basis for accreditation, and they usually determine the performances of organisations will be judged.

EQuIP National Standards

This is an additional five standards that were developed by The Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS). These five standards were part of the EQuIP National program and designed to complement the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards. Health services can choose to be assessed based on the EQuIP National Standards alongside the NSQHS Standards when it is time for the national accreditation exercise. The standards were gotten from the EQuIP5 and redrafted so that they will integrate effectively with the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards.

Aged Care Standards

For residential aged care facilities to be eligible for government subsidies in Australia, they must be accredited. This accreditation is based on the assessment of their performance based on the Aged Care Standards. It is made of four standards, each of which overarching various expected outcomes, all in all, there are forty-four expected outcomes which residential aged care facilities must comply with all the time.

Community Common Care Standards

These are standards developed to guide service providers and ensure they provide quality community care services for their clients. It also assists the service providers in preparing and participating in successful Quality Services. The standards are three with eighteen expected outcomes. These standards are applicable to service providers that are funded under these programs;

  • National Respite for Carers Program (NRCP)
  • Packaged Care Programs – which includes Extended Aged Care at Home Dementia (EACHD), Extended Aged Care at Home (EACH community), and Aged Care Packages (CAPS).
  • The Home and Community Care Program (HACC)

Grampians Regional Clinical Governance Network (GRCGN)

This is a network made up of quality managers, health service personnel, and Department of Health representatives. They meet every three months for workshops, discussion, and report on safety and quality matters in the region to improve these standards.